Single-Serve Vanilla Cake

20140422-155043.jpg

Have you ever wanted just one piece of cake? Me too. Basically, all the time.

Have you ever baked a whole cake and had the willpower to just eat one slice? Yeah, me neither.

Cake makes my soul happy, but my waistline unbelievably unhappy. I firmly believe in indulgences though, and I find that if I restrict my diet so much to exclude delicious treats like cake, I binge on them like crazy later. So instead, I did some investigating on how to create a single-serve cake that would satisfy my cravings, but put the brakes on how much I can eat.

Microwave mug cakes were all the rage on Pinterest a year or two ago, and I’ve made them before, but with less than stellar results. My mug cakes were always goopy on the inside, but kind of tough on the outside, and the fact that they were baked in my mug meant that frosting and layers were kind of out of the question.

Instead, I powered up my oven, pulled out my smallest oven-safe Pyrex container, and got a-baking.

Lesson of the day: sometimes, a microwave oven doesn’t cut it, and you need the real deal to get something delicious.

In the end, I got a perfect little cake that was moist-yet-firm, and evenly baked. I whipped up a little nutella buttercream frosting because I’m super indulgent like that, and threw on a few colorful sugar sprinkles, and voila! Deliciousness just for me, myself, and I.

ps. play with this recipe and create new flavors by adding fresh fruit or nut extracts!

20140422-155049.jpg

Single-Serve Vanilla Cake
Serves: 1!
Preparation Time: 5 minutes
Cooking Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients
1 1/2 Tbsp liquid egg whites
1 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp butter, melted
3/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 cup flour
1/8 tsp (heaping) baking powder
Pinch of salt
3/4 Tbsp milk

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray the bottom and sides of a small oven-safe, glass container (I used a small Pyrex container without the lid, about 6″ diameter)
  2. In a bowl, use a fork to whisk egg whites and sugar until well combined. Add in butter and vanilla extract, and whisk well. Add flour, baking powder and salt, and stir to break up lumps, until the mixture is uniform and smooth. Stir in milk and combine.
  3. Pour batter into Pyrex container, and bake for 10-15 minutes, or until the cake is set, the top is golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool completely and decorate with your frosting, sprinkles, and/or fruit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

