Scrambled Tofu with Spinach and Tomatoes

20140311-093234.jpg

Fact: I could never, ever be vegan. I have immense respect for any vegan (or lactose intolerant person) because I would probably cry myself to sleep every night if I couldn’t eat cheese. It’s the best.

The above statement has nothing to do with the rest of this post, but I thought the world should know.

Anyway, I’ve had a turbulent relationship with eggs in the past. I’ll go through these phases where I think eggs are the best ever, and then suddenly, I’ll never want to even smell an egg ever again. It’s a strange problem, but alas, such is my life. I’ve been reading a lot of recipes for tofu as a scrambled egg substitute, so I thought I’d try my hand at it. And it is good! This dish has a similar texture to “wet” scrambled eggs, and can accommodate for a lot of great flavors and add-ins, without having that “eggy” taste. And a big bonus here: this recipe takes less than 10 minutes, and can be made in advance! Woohoo!

Want to make this dish even more filling? Grab a couple of whole wheat or corn tortillas and make a breakfast taco. Heat up some black beans to throw into the taco to make an even more satisfying any-time-of-day-meal.
Want more add-ins? Try plain or roasted corn, plain or roasted red peppers, caramelized mushrooms, salsa, avocado, kale, taco seasoning, or brie.
Want to make it more vegan? Use nutritional yeast or vegan cheese instead of regular cheese.
Can’t commit to tofu? Use half the amount of tofu, and add 2 eggs for scrambling.
Really skeptical about tofu? Nix the tofu all together, and use eggs as you normally would. But really, just give tofu a chance!

20140311-093240.jpg

Scrambled Tofu with Spinach and Tomatoes
Serves: 4
Preparation Time: 5 minutes
Cooking Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients
1 package firm tofu, drained and rinsed with excess water pressed out
2 tsp olive oil
1 medium red onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup reduced fat cheddar cheese
1 Tbsp whole grain Dijon mustard
1 tsp paprika or mild chili powder
Hot sauce, or to taste
Salt and pepper, to taste
1/2 cup grape tomatoes, halved
1 cup spinach, roughly chopped

  1. In a large skillet, heat oil on medium heat. Add onion and garlic, and cook until translucent, about 2 minutes.
  2. While crumbling with hands, add tofu to skillet. Use the edge of a wooden spoon to break up the tofu into smaller crumbles until it resembles scrambled eggs. (If using eggs, add them in now and scramble them up!)
  3. Add cheese, mustard, paprika, hot sauce, salt and pepper to the tofu, and stir continuously until cheese melts.
  4. Remove skillet from heat and toss in tomatoes and spinach. Stir until spinach wilts. Serve hot.

Note: For a make ahead meal, prepare this recipe through Step 3. Line the bottom of a lidded container with spinach, and pour hot tofu mixture over it. Place tomatoes on top, cool completely, cover and refrigerate for up to 5 days.

